Customer reviews

Outback

Calculated over 12 reviews

Quality

4.75

Reliability

4.9

Satisfaction

4.75

Handling

4.67

Fit for purpose

4.92

Mr A of CONSETT on Oct 2016

I have been driving Subaru's for 20 years and have recently taken delivery of my 7th vehicle. This is my first Outback, having previously owned 4 Impreza's, a Forester and an XV. Even after only two weeks, it is already returning over 40 MPG on a combined cycle urban and motorway driving. So far it hasn't put a foot wrong - something I've come to rely on with the brand. The car is very smooth, very comfortable and much quieter than my previous diesels - exactly how the flagship model should be. I only have 2 criticisms at present.. 1 (minor) - although the side lights and dipped headlights are led fittings, the main beams are halogen bulbs which are very yellow by comparison, but they do illuminate the road well. 2 (not so minor) - the infotainment system does not have DAB at all! If you want to listen to digital stations, you have to set it up via apps on your phone - only advisable if you have a decent data package. I find this very disappointing. I have every confidence the ability of the car during the upcoming winter months - they've NEVER failed to get me where I needed to be! Given the Outback's reputation, I'm sure it won't let me down.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mrs H of LONDON on Oct 2016

Our new Outback is a hit with everyone in the family. High quality interior, acres of space, all the equipment we need, pleasant styling plus the usual Subaru strengths (great traction and seemingly indestructible). Power tailgate an enormous hit with our seven year old son.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Sir M of CUPAR on Sep 2016

I am a great fan of Subaru cars, and am presently driving my fifth. Living in Scotland at a height of 300 ft. above sea level the 4Wd is invaluable and means we can get out of our village when we have snow in the winter, whilst others can't. However even in towns the Outback has so many helpful features and I especially appreciate the wonderful turning circle. Nearly as good as a black cab.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr S of LEIGHTON BUZZARD on Sep 2016

2016 Outback 2.0 D SE Premium at last is a specification that now brings the comfort of the front seat passenger into line with that of the driver. I refer to the long awaited provision of an electrically adjustable seat for the front passenger the lack of which I complained to Subaru UK several years ago. I also appreciate the increased leg room for both front & rear passengers & the ability to recline the rear seats. However, all is not good. I regret that the Ivory trim option is no longer available. I have already found myself scrabbling around in the inky darkness of the front under fascia with a hand torch to locate some of the difficult to see controls.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr W of Gaerwen on Aug 2016

Our second Outback diesel (last one was a 2008 ReN). Really pleased with the last one and bought another due to reliability, excellent 4WD and fantastic dealer support (Simpsons in Highworth and Brookside in Anglesey). The 2016 version has moved on considerably in every way - smoother, quieter, more room etc. Overall very pleased with the car so far having completed 2500 miles. Any issues are very minor, but include: - Voice recognition is so unreliable it is effectively useless. - Electric boot opening is frustrating as it sometimes unlocks but does not actually open, and when it does open it is too slow - there is no reversional manual mode. - Headlamp main beam are not LED/halogen and appear yellow next to the dipped beam. - No spare wheel as standard - not a good trend on a 4WD vehicle. - It would be nice to have the full panoramic sunroof back. Subaru - please don't put gadgets on the car unless they work faultlessly or can be switched off! These are minor niggles and we are on the whole delighted with the car and the Subaru dealers.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Doctor R of AYLESBURY on Jul 2016

As a man who loves to fish, with a wife who loves to paint, the perfect car has to meet a lot of expectations. The boot must be large enough to accommodate not only the suitcases for the trips, but a panoply of fishing tackle, easels, canvases and paints (did I mention wader, wellies, waterproofs etc?). It must perform well both on and off-road with the ability to navigate muddy slopes, mountain passes and deep puddles. In addition, in order to perform in these situations, it requires excellent ground clearance and perfect stability. We have tried many 4x4 vehicles, but Subaru is the only car that delivers. The low centre of gravity afforded by the boxer engine gives a virtually roll free experience in all situations; a feature much appreciated by my wife who fell queasy in all other 4x4s that we test drove. The robust engineering is such that I do not anticipate a replacement in the near future, but when I do, there will be no contestants!

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr M of MANCHESTER on Jul 2016

Exceptionally pleased with the car, shape and colour. Comfortable ride. On the first lengthy journey I got 41.6 mpg going and 40.7 on the return journey. More than I expected.

Mr B of GLASGOW on Jul 2016

Well built, comfortable, fuel efficient (57mpg), nice to drive

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr M of COLERAINE on Jun 2016

The Outback is my second Subaru. I am well pleased with my current model which has the seven speed auto box. Both the six speed manual and the seven speed auto both return me around the forty mpg. I would drive around thirty thousand miles per year. In the luggage area I carry a large tool box and fittings which takes the weight of the vehicle up to two ton with driver in it. Some of my customers may be off the M2 in Belfast or my next call is up at Lough Fea above Cookstown at a sand pit. The car is very driver friendly either on the motorway or up single track roads. Like the general layout of the controls, the bar graph of mpg is a distraction, also when you turn side/driving lights it's night time and the dash screens go dark. Tyre wear is around the forty thousand mile mark, very good consider some of the roads I am on. Seat after a few hours would get a bit hard on the old bottom, maybe just me. would buy again. Also very good service from dealer.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr H of Hull on May 2016

What can I say, if you have owned a Subaru you don't need me to tell you why they are such great cars, and if you haven't owned one you should give them a try, and then you can fall in love with the brand just like everyone who owns one does. I'm on my third Subaru now, having had 2 Legacy's and now an Outback, and every time I decide to replace my car I honestly can't think of another brand that I'd rather have. They are everything to all men/women, practical, reliable & comfortable, yet a real driver's car with superb handling and road holding ability, and in bad winters with ice and snow I feel safe and in control while everyone else around me is crashing or getting stuck. I have loved all of my Subaru's, and I hope the brand will continue making great cars that appeal to me in this way, so I can be a Subaru owner forever!

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose