Customer reviews

Outback

Calculated over 23 reviews

Quality

4.7

Reliability

4.8

Satisfaction

4.82

Handling

4.74

Fit for purpose

4.91

Mr M of WARWICK on Jan 2017

This is our fourth Subaru. Our Outback D SE Premium Lineartronic is just six months old and covered just over 12000 miles. We have used it to tow livestock trailers out of muddy fields, boats up of greasy slipways, its travelled to and from our house in SW France towing heavy loads and it is perfect in every way. It is comfortable, roomy, economical, extremely sure footed and in our view all of the car anyone you could ever want!

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr P of NEWTON STEWART on Jan 2017

I did a lot of research before buying my Outback, and it's turned out to be everything I wanted it to be. It's reliable, comfortable, powerful enough, well built and spacious without being too big. It feels well planted on the road at all times. I love the feeling that I can trust it to get me anywhere, whatever the weather, and the fact that it's understated in relation to the obvious competition, not making any obvious "statements"

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr W of Northwich on Jan 2017

My Outback is a 2.0D SE Premium, purchased April 2015 from Mangoletsi in Cheshire. Previously I had a Legacy for five years and loved it, but the Outback is a class above in every respect. Comfortable and very roomy, well equipped and with build quality to equal most German products. The engine and Lineartronic transmission are silky smooth giving excellent acceleration and the handling and road holding are incredible, the all-wheel drive system giving a real sense of security. It's major safety feature is eye sight, which gives warning of an imminent collision and will apply the brakes automatically if called for, and also warns of lane deviation - useful on motorways but I usually turn this off on normal roads. A fantastic car, I'm very glad I chose it and I'm surprised there aren't many more of them about.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr W of LANCASTER on Dec 2016

Purchased my first Subaru (wrx) back in 2003, run it for 13 years, never let me down once, as you can imagine I was very reluctant to change it... I took the plunge and traded it in for what my partner calls a grown up car... Subaru Outback. I've only had it a couple of weeks so still early days yet, up to now I'm loving it, my perfect world would be Monday to Friday drive the outback, with Saturday and Sunday reserved for the STI, I'll have to wait untill I win the lottery.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr G of PRESTON on Dec 2016

Only two weeks into ownership of my new Outback 2.5 SE Premium Lineartronic, petrol. Liked my previous car, loving this one! Quiet, smooth, good ride, great driving position. There is lots of space inside, yet it manages not to feel like a large car to drive, park or manoeuvre. Safety kit very impressive and the eye sight adaptive cruise control is outstanding. Too soon to say what economy will be like, as only done 500 miles, but averaging around 40mpg, which is better than expected. Looking forward to getting some miles in and using the car in different conditions. CVT transmission needs an adjustment in driving style: treat the car gently and it rewards you with smooth and refined progress. Too soon to rate reliability, but it feels strong and well engineered.

Mr A of LEICESTER on Dec 2016

Really pleased with this car. Everything feels really solid, robust, and good quality. Road holding and grip is excellent and very reassuring. As a medic involved in trauma, the Eyesight technology and over-engineering really appealed to me, and I am very confident that it will ensure the safety of my family and me. Makes a great alternative to my old Saab in this respect, and a more original buy than a Merc, BMW, Volvo, or Audi. I have yet to really test the fuel consumption (2.5 Petrol) - winter town driving not ideal - but better than my previous car, and despite what many reviews say, not bad for a big petrol automatic.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr C of HASLEMERE on Dec 2016

I have now owned my Outback for a year and covered 12,000 miles. It has proven to be a very easy car to live with and an excellent drive. The CVT transmission is a joy and for a large car with a petrol engine surprisingly economical. The electronics were a revelation to me with the adaptive cruise control making long enjoys almost pleasurable. All in all I am very pleased. Points against? The idiot who decided it was a good idea not to install a DAB radio and to install a tiny digital clock should be fired!

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mrs W of EPSOM on Nov 2016

I had a 2010 diesel manual Outback from new and did 66,000 trouble-free miles, driving all over Europe in great comfort and security, always getting 45-50mpg. I decided to trade in for the new model having seen all the improvements. I was going to buy another diesel but the helpful salesman at Bell and Colvill suggested I try the 2.5 petrol, pointing out that the £2000 price differential buys a lot of fuel and was good value if annual mileage is not high. I've had it only a week but I absolutely love it. The engine is really smooth and quiet, the CVT transmission is excellent and the upgraded interior a pleasure to be in. I can't wait to drive it more. I like the fact you can get a new Subaru without months of waiting and you don't have to agonise over expensive options. I test drove a Volvo XC60 but the cabin felt more cramped and it does not come with Eyesight technology as standard. My only criticism is I would like a bigger choice of bolder colours (the Sepia bronze from the Forester would be good) and it would be nice to be able to get the leather in cream or red like they do in the US.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mr A of CONSETT on Oct 2016

I have been driving Subaru's for 20 years and have recently taken delivery of my 7th vehicle. This is my first Outback, having previously owned 4 Impreza's, a Forester and an XV. Even after only two weeks, it is already returning over 40 MPG on a combined cycle urban and motorway driving. So far it hasn't put a foot wrong - something I've come to rely on with the brand. The car is very smooth, very comfortable and much quieter than my previous diesels - exactly how the flagship model should be. I only have 2 criticisms at present.. 1 (minor) - although the side lights and dipped headlights are led fittings, the main beams are halogen bulbs which are very yellow by comparison, but they do illuminate the road well. 2 (not so minor) - the infotainment system does not have DAB at all! If you want to listen to digital stations, you have to set it up via apps on your phone - only advisable if you have a decent data package. I find this very disappointing. I have every confidence the ability of the car during the upcoming winter months - they've NEVER failed to get me where I needed to be! Given the Outback's reputation, I'm sure it won't let me down.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose

Mrs H of LONDON on Oct 2016

Our new Outback is a hit with everyone in the family. High quality interior, acres of space, all the equipment we need, pleasant styling plus the usual Subaru strengths (great traction and seemingly indestructible). Power tailgate an enormous hit with our seven year old son.

Quality

Reliability

Satisfaction

Handling

Fit for purpose